Sarina Wiegman has named the 23-player squad that will represent England at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

Millie Bright, Lucy Bronze, Rachel Daly, Mary Earps, Alex Greenwood, Georgia Stanway and Keira Walsh have all been announced. The players made the cut for the Lionesses squad that reached the World Cup semi-finals in 2019.

Wiegman said: “I have huge belief in this squad and we’re very fortunate to be selecting a fantastic group of players to travel to Australia.

“We know we will face tough challenges from strong teams, and we will have to be competitive from the first match on 22 July. We will do everything to be at our very best again this summer.

“It is important the players get some well-deserved time to rest and recover over the next few weeks before we start the final preparations to get them ready.

“We learned a lot of positive lessons about how to get the players fit, fresh and ready from the EURO last summer and we know what we have to do to make sure we hit the ground running in the right way when the tournament starts.”

Niamh Charles, Laura Coombs, Lauren James, Esme Morgan, Katie Robinson and Katie Zelem are making their major tournament debut in style this summer. You can expect to see them representing England on July 20 in Australia and New Zealand.

England captain Leah Williamson, Fran Kirby and Beth Mead will all miss out on the finals due to injuries.

Wiegman added: “It’s always tough to leave some players out of the squad, but they know they could still be needed if we have any issues before we start the tournament. I’m very happy that we have such a professional group. I must also pay tribute to the staff for their dedication and commitment to helping us be the best we can be in Australia.”

Read here to find out more information about England’s Lionesses 2023 World Cup squad. You can find the full outline of the Lionesses squad below.

Goalkeepers: Mary Earps (Manchester United), Ellie Roebuck (Manchester City), Hannah Hampton (Aston Villa).

Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea), Lucy Bronze (Barcelona), Jess Carter (Chelsea), Niamh Charles (Chelsea), Esme Morgan (Manchester City), Alex Greenwood (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Keira Walsh (Barcelona), Georgia Stanway (Bayern Munich), Ella Toone (Manchester United), Jordan Nobbs (Aston Villa), Laura Coombs (Manchester City), Katie Zelem (Manchester United).

Forwards: Alessia Russo (Manchester United), Rachel Daly (Aston Villa), Lauren Hemp (Manchester City), Chloe Kelly (Manchester City), Lauren James (Chelsea), Katie Robinson (Brighton), Bethany England (Tottenham).

Standby players: Maya Le Tissier (Manchester United), Jess Park (Manchester City), Emily Ramsey (Manchester United).

Watch Sarina Wiegman’s media conference on the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 squad announcement below.