The movie adaptation of Emily Danforth’s acclaimed novel won the grand prize for its portrayal of teenagers struggling to “pray away the gay”.

Gay conversion therapy drama Miseducation of Cameron Post won the Sundance Film Festival’s grand jury prize this weekend, beating out critically-lauded dramas such as Blindspotting and Monster.

The LGBTQ film is based on Emily Danforth’s acclaimed novel of the same name, following a teenage girl (played by Chloë Grace Moretz) who is sent to a gay conversion camp by her aunt after she is caught kissing another girl.

“We want to dedicate this award to the LGBTQ survivors of sexual conversion therapy,” Moretz said in her acceptance speech.

“We want this movie to shine a light on the fact that it is only illegal in nine states out of the 50 to practice sexual conversion therapy.”

Directed by Desiree Akhavan, the coming-of-age drama also stars Sasha Lane, John Gallagher Jr, Forrest Goodluck, Jennifer Ehle, Quinn Shephard and Emily Skeggs.

As of Saturday night, the movie has not been picked up for distribution, and there’s no confirmed release date.

View the full list of Sundance winners below.


Grand Jury Prize: The Miseducation of Cameron Post

Audience Award: Burden

Directing: Sara Colangelo, The Kindergarten Teacher

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: Christina Choe, Nancy

Special Jury Award for outstanding first feature: Monsters and Men

Special Jury Award for excellence in filmmaking: I Think We’re Alone Now

Special Jury Award for achievement in acting:  Benjamin Dickey, Blaze


Grand Jury Prize: Kailash

Audience Award: The Sentence

Directing: Alexandria Bombach, On Her Shoulders

Special Jury Award for creative vision: Hale County This Morning, This Evening

Special Jury Award for social impact: Crime + Punishment

Special Jury Award for storytelling: Three Identical Strangers

Special Jury Award for breakthrough filmmaking:  Minding the Gap


Grand Jury Prize: Butterflies

Audience Award: The Guilty

Directing: Ísold Uggadóttir, And Breathe Normally

Special Jury Award for screenwriting: Julio Chavezmontes and Sebastián Hofmann, Time Share (Tiempo Compartido)

Special Jury Award for acting: Valeria Bertuccelli, The Queen of Fear

Special Jury Award for ensemble acting: Dead Pigs


Grand Jury Prize: Of Fathers and Sons

Audience Award: This Is Home

Directing: Sandi Tan, Shirkers

Special Jury Award: Stephen Loveridge and M.I.A., Matangi/Maya/M.I.A.

Special Jury Award for editing: Maxim Pozdorovkin and Matvey Kulakov, Our New President

Special Jury Award for cinematography: Maxim Arbugaev and Peter Indergand, Genesis 2.0


NEXT Audience Award: Search

NEXT Innovator Prize (tie): Night Comes On and We the Animals

Get your hands on our latest issue now at