Palo Santo will be released 6 July.

Years and Years have unveiled the album cover, tracklist and release date for their highly-anticipated sophomore album.

Palo Santo – the follow-up to 2015’s Communion – will be released 8 July, and will be accompanied by a short film of a dystopian society populated by androids known as Palo Santo (Spanish for “holy wood”).

It will have 14 tracks in total, featuring the critically-acclaimed dark-pop track Sanctify, which charted at 25 on the UK Singles Chart last month, and the H&M campaign single, Hypnotized.

Kid Harpoon, Greg Kurstin, Julia Michaels, Justin Tranter, Steve Mac, Jessie Shatkin and Sarah Hudson are among its collaborators.

Check out the incredible cover and tracklist below:

  1. Sanctify
  2. Hallelujah
  3. All For You
  4. Karma
  5. Hypnotised
  6. Rendezvous
  7. If You’re Over Me
  8. Preacher
  9. Lucky Escape
  10. Palo Santo
  11. Here (Interlude)
  12. Howl (Bonus track)
  13. Don’t Panic (Bonus track)
  14. Up In Flames (Bonus track)

The trio have also shared the trailer for their short film, which is narrated by the one and only, Dame Judi Dench!

She will also star alongside frontman Olly Alexander and Vithaya Pansringarm in the Fred Rowson directed clip.

The premise reads: “Palo Santo has also become a city on a distant planet, on which human beings are a rare commodity, worshipped and idolized by an android society. Olly, along with the final humans, is recruited to perform in a series of bizarre erotic cabarets, for an artificial master known only as The Showman.”

Watch the trailer below:

Last year, Olly revealed that he was advised to not talk about his sexuality during the band’s early years.

“I kind of had one media training session early on with this woman who kind of advised me not to come out,” Olly admitted. “‘You don’t need to – you don’t need to make it a big deal. Why should you have to express your sexuality?’

“I can see where she was coming from, and I understand why that might have been the norm to tell musicians in the past.

“After a certain point I realised I was getting this real anxiety and stress from worrying about what interviewers might ask me. I felt like the music was about me and my identity, so it didn’t make any sense for me to not talk about this.”

Olly added: “I made the decision – it did feel like a bit of a choice – really, really early on that I’m just going to be out as much as possible.”

And that’s exactly what he did on Sanctify, which he said is a celebration of being part of the LGBTQ community: “I feel like being gay is a blessing. I wanted that to come through in the song.”