Lana Wachowski is set to write and direct a fourth instalment of The Matrix.

The franchise’s original stars Keanu Reeves and Carrie-Ann Moss will reprise their iconic roles as Neo and Trinity.

Warner Bros. Pictures and Village Roadshow Pictures will produce and and distribute the film. Toby Emmerich – chairman of Warner Bros. Picture Group – made the announcement on Tuesday (20 August).

Emmerich said in a statement: “We could not be more excited to be re-entering ‘The Matrix’ with Lana.

“Lana is a true visionary — a singular and original creative filmmaker — and we are thrilled that she is writing, directing and producing this new chapter in ‘The Matrix’ universe.”

Aleksandar Hemon and David Mitchell co-wrote the script with Wachowski, who helmed the original trilogy alongside her sister Lilly Wachowski. There is no word on whether Lilly will return in a creative capacity.

“Many of the ideas Lilly and I explored 20 years ago about our reality are even more relevant now,” said Lilly. “I’m very happy to have these characters back in my life and grateful for another chance to work with my brilliant friends.”

The first instalment in The Matrix franchise premiered in 1999 to universal acclaim; it grossed over $460 million worldwide, won four Academy Awards and is often regarded as one of the greatest science-fiction films of all time.

The success of the film spawned two sequels, The Matrix Reloaded and The Matrix Revolutions, both of which were massive successes at the box office but failed to replicate the critical reception of the original.

The franchise also starred Laurence Fishburne, Jada Pinkett Smith, Harold Perrineau, Harry Lennix, Anthony Zerbe, Clayton Watson, Ian Bliss, Nathaniel Lees, David Roberts, Hugo Weaving and Collin Chou.

So far, Reeves and Moss are the only original cast members confirmed to return.