Hold onto your wigs, pop’s OG is back in a big way.

Following her magnificent turn in this summer’s blockbuster sequel Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again, Cher has recorded a whole album’s worth of ABBA classics.

Lead single Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight) is a brilliant crescendo of camp, which you can listen to below, and read our review of the track here.

“I’ve always liked Abba and saw the original Mamma Mia musical on Broadway three times,” said Cher.

“After filming Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again, I was reminded again of what great and timeless songs they wrote and started thinking, ‘Why not do an album of their music?’

Related: Watch Cher and Andy Garcia try to guess ABBA songs using only emojis

“The songs were harder to sing than I imagined but I’m so happy with how the music came out. I’m really excited for people to hear it. It’s a perfect time.”

Cher will release her new covers album Dancing Queen on 28 September.

The collection was recorded and produced in London and Los Angeles with her longtime collaborator Mark Taylor, who produced her 90s global smash hit Believe.

The accompanying artwork is a nod to ABBA’s classic imagery, but through the lens of Cher and her fabulous wigs.

Songs recorded for the album include Waterloo, Mamma Mia, SOS, and Name of the Game, as well title track Dancing Queen.

Cher’s new single Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight) is available to download and stream now.

The full tracklist for Dancing Queen is as follows:

1. Dancing Queen
2. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)
3. The Name Of The Game
4. SOS
5. Waterloo
6. Mamma Mia
7. Chiquitita
8. Fernando
9. The Winner Takes It All
10. One Of Us

Related: Exclusive interview: Cher reveals why Fernando was so difficult to learn for Mamma Mia 2