Stonewall Awards celebrate a decade of LGBT achievements

LGBT charity Stonewall hosted its tenth and final awards ceremony last night, hosted by the legendary Ian McKellen.

The event celebrated the biggest LGBT achievements over the last decade, and saw stars including Charlie Condou, Jane Hill, Mary Portas, Doctor Ranj and Evan Davis present the awards.

Broadcast of the Decade was awarded to our former cover stars from Hollyoaks, for its long-standing dedication to the integration of LGBT characters and issues over the years.

Stonewall Hollyoaks

Dan Gillespie Sells, openly gay singer of group The Feeling, won Entertainer of the Decade, while Welsh novelist Sarah Waters collected the Writer of the Decade award for her inclusion of LGBT characters in her work.

Welsh referee Nigel Owens was presented with the Sports Person of the Decade award after becoming the first openly gay man to referee the rugby World Cup this year.

Lord Alli, who appears in the current issue of GT, was named Politician of the Decade for his same-sex marriage campaigning and for being the first openly gay member of the House of Lords.

The cast and crew of Boy Meets Girl, including trans actress Rebecca Root, were awarded Stonewall’s first Trans Media Award for bringing awareness of transgender issues to prime time TV.

Stonewall Boy Meets Girl

Journalist of the Decade was given to Liz Mackean for her Channel 4 Dispatches documentary Hunted, based on the “hunting” of LGBT people in Russia and the violence they face, while The Guardian won Publication of the Decade for its consistent and sensitive coverage of LGBT issues.

Ruth Hunt, Chief Executive of Stonewall, said: “We have come so far for lesbian, gay, bi and trans equality – but we still have so much left to do. And to do that, and to be the change we want to see, we must continue to work together to achieve full equality.

“This year marks the final year for the Stonewall Awards but watch this space for something new next year, which will reflect all our communities and brings people from across those communities together. Acceptance without exception. Where all lesbian, gay, bi and trans people, in Britain and abroad, can live freely as themselves without fear of persecution.”

The full list of winners is:

Publication of the Decade The Guardian

Politician of the Decade Lord Alli

Writer of the Decade Sarah Waters

Journalist of the Decade Liz MacKean

Broadcast of the Decade Hollyoaks

Entertainer of the Decade Dan Gillespie Sells

Sports Person or Team of the Decade Nigel Owens

Trans Media Award Boy Meets Girl



Press enter to search